fbpx
EmbryoClinic | Fertilité
At EMBRYOCLINIC we join forces to provide quality of care and fertility services customized to our patients. We are committed to effectiveness, safety and excellence. EmbryoClinic’s Medical Team was established in 1999 and its extensive experience is a guarantee for success in an ethical and safe environment. Cutting edge medical technology is used and current medical protocols applied in accordance to the latest international guidelines.
fertility, infertility, female fertility, male fertility, female infertility, male infertility, boost your fertility, Endometriosis, Pelvic infection, ovarian surgery, Irregular menstrual cycle, amenorrhoea, Chronic testicular pain, hormonal evaluation, semen analysis, Intrauterine insemination, IUI, IVF, in vitro fertilisation, Assisted Reproduction, Ovulation induction, STAGES OF IVF, Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection, ICSI, Assisted Hatching, AH, Percutaneous Epidydimal Sperm Aspiration, PESA, Testicular Sperm Extraction, TESE, Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis, PGD, Donor Eggs, ecoIVF, mini IVF, Natural cycle IVF, mild stimulation IVF, Egg Sharing, Fertility preservation, SPERM DONATION, EGG DONATION, HOLISTIC APPROACH, fertility massage, fertility nutrition, fertility acupuncture
24516
page-template-default,page,page-id-24516,page-child,parent-pageid-24505,cookies-not-set,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-4.4.1533193858,select-theme-ver-4.4,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive

La fertilité féminine

Les premières règles menstruelles (ménarche) apparaissent entre 12 et 13 ans. Elles cessent vers 50 ans à la ménopause.

Bien que les femmes peuvent concevoir tous les jours de leur cycle menstruel, la fécondité est à son apogée deux jours avant et deux jours après l’ovulation. Cette « fenêtre de fertilité » varie de femme en femmes, et de cycle en cycle pour une même femme.

Un ovule peut être fécondé jusqu’à 2 jours après l’ovulation. Les spermatozoïdes ne peuvent vivre que pendant 2 à 3 jours dans le système de reproduction de la femme, avec un maximum de 5 jours.

Ces paramètres sont importants et doivent être pris en compte par les couples dont les moyens de contraception sont basés sur la méthode du calendrier.

La probabilité d’une femme de concevoir est basée principalement sur l’âge:

  • 30 ans

    • 75% de probabilité de grossesse en 1 an
    • 91% de probabilité de grossesse en 4 ans

  • 35 ans

    • 66% de probabilité de grossesse en 1 an
    • 84% de probabilité de grossesse en 4 ans

  • 40 ans

    • 44% de probabilité de grossesse en 1 an
    • 64% de probabilité de grossesse en 4 ans

As a general rule, it is recommended that a couple consult a Fertility Specialist if they have been trying to conceive for a year with no success. They should seek medical advice earlier if there is a history of miscarriages, gynecological surgery or woman’s age over 35 years.

 

La fertilité masculine

L’âge avancé chez les hommes est associé à une diminution du volume de sperme, une diminution de la densité du sperme (oligospermie) et de la mobilité (asthénospermie), et à une morphologie pathologique (tératospermie).

• Chez les hommes de 20 – 39 ans, 90% des tubes séminifères contiennent des spermatozoïdes matures
• Chez les hommes de 40 – 69 ans, 50% des tubes séminifères contiennent des spermatozoïdes matures
• Chez les hommes ≥ 80, 10% des tubes séminifères contiennent des spermatozoïdes matures

10 façons de stimuler votre fertilité

Surveillez votre poids

L’excès de graisse corporelle, en plus d’autres effets néfastes, peut conduire à la surproduction de certaines hormones qui perturbent l’ovulation. L’obésité peut provoquer une irrégularité du cycle et une baisse de la fréquence d’ovulation, réduisant les chances de grossesse.
De même, un poids extrêmement faible (indice de masse corporelle IMC <17) signifie souvent que le corps ne peut pas produire assez d’hormones pour produire des ovocytes ou pour maintenir une grossesse. De l’exercice, sans extrêmes, peut aider à maintenir un poids sain. Les femmes qui pratiquent un exercice intensément (par exemple coureurs de longue distance) peuvent arrêter de produire des ovocytes ou ovuler moins souvent.
L’exercice excessif augmente également le risque de fausse couche. Discutez de votre exercice avec votre gynécologue lorsque vous essayez d’être enceinte.

Ayez une alimentation équilibrée

Une alimentation équilibrée et complète augmente les chances de grossesse. Assurez-vous d’inclure des protéines, du fer, du zinc et de la vitamine C, leur carence pouvant engendrer des cycles plus long (ovulation moins fréquentes) et un risque plus élevé de fausses couches.

Un régime alimentaire équilibré comprend des aliments riches en protéines comme la viande, le poisson, les produits laitiers faibles en quantités grasses, les œufs et les haricots. Les végétariens peuvent obtenir les acides aminés essentiels en incluant une variété de délicieux aliments riches en protéines dans leur alimentation tels que le riz, les haricots et le tofu.

Arrêter de fumer

Les toxines issues de la fumée de cigarette sont non seulement nocives pour les ovocytes, interférant dans le processus de fécondation et d’implantation, mais provoquent également le vieillissement ovarien. En d’autres termes, les ovaires d’une fumeuse de 35 ans peuvent fonctionner comme ceux d’une femme âgée de 40 ans et sont donc moins fertiles. Fumer provoque des dommages permanents de fertilité. Cependant, une fonction ovarienne normale pourrait être partiellement rétablie, en cas d’interruption de consommation de tabac.

Connaitre votre cycle

Un cycle menstruel normal dure environ 25 à 35 jours (à compter de la première journée des règles).
Si la durée est beaucoup plus longue, par exemple 42 jours, l’ovulation devient moins fréquente ou n’a pas lieu du tout, et une visite chez le gynécologue est recommandée.
Lorsqu’une femme souhaite tomber enceinte, il est impératif de déterminer la « fenêtre fertile » durant laquelle les rapports sexuels devront être plus réguliers. Les jours fertiles d’une femme sont généralement le jour de l’ovulation et 3-4 jours plus tôt.
La théorie selon laquelle l’ovulation a lieu par défaut le 14ème jour du cycle est erronée. Le jour de l’ovulation varie considérablement d’une femme à l’autre et peut se produire dès le jour 6ème ou, par exemple, le 21ème jour du cycle.
Comment une femme peut déterminer le moment où elle va ovuler ? Elle peut essayer d’utiliser un kit d’ovulation, qui mesure certaines hormones dans l’urine, ou de surveiller les changements quotidiens de la température de son corps et de la glaire cervicale. Toutefois, la fiabilité de ces méthodes est limitée, et un suivi individualisé d’un gynécologue est recommandé.

Restez calme

L’anxiété et la dépression peuvent nuire à la fertilité. Des études scientifiques indiquent que les femmes ont moins de chance de concevoir quand elles sont psychologiquement stressées. Le stress, comme l’exercice intense, peuvent perturber la production d’hormones, ce qui rend le cycle menstruel moins prévisible.
Une bonne gestion du stress grâce à des techniques de relaxation (comme la méditation ou le yoga) ou le soutien d’un conseiller ou d’un groupe, peuvent réguler les niveaux d’hormones.

Réduire la consommation d’alcool

Des études récentes lient la consommation d’alcool à la réduction de la capacité de concevoir (en plus des dommages qu’elle peut causer à l’embryon et à d’autres organes).
L’alcool altère les niveaux des œstrogènes qui peuvent influencer l’implantation de l’ovule, sachant cependant qu’un verre de vin lors d’un dîner occasionnel pourra difficilement porter atteinte à la fertilité. La consommation de caféine devra également être diminuée, lors de la tentative de conception et durant la grossesse.

Avoir des rapports sexuels frequents

Les exigences de la vie quotidienne peuvent affecter négativement l’appétit sexuel d’un couple. Les recherches scientifiques montrent que les femmes qui ont des rapports sexuels au moins une fois par semaine sont plus susceptibles d’avoir un cycle prévisible et une ovulation normale que celles qui ont des rapports sexuels sporadiques.
Les rapports sexuels tous les 36 à 48 heures, quelques jours avant l’ovulation, augmenteront les chances de conception.

Pas de douche vaginale

Les douches vaginales peuvent détruire la flore de protection naturelle du vagin, augmentant ainsi le risque de vaginite bactérienne.

Une odeur désagréable et les sécrétions vaginales sont souvent les seules indications de l’infection.
Ces infections sont souvent liées à des naissances prématurées et peuvent être associés à un risque accru de fausse couche et d’infertilité.
Une visite chez le médecin est nécessaire si des symptômes de vaginite sont observés (démangeaisons, brûlures, mucus inhabituel, ulcères, etc.).

La pilule

La pilule contraceptive peut réellement améliorer la fertilité. Il existe des indications qui montrent qu’en interrompant temporairement l’ovulation le système reproducteur se “repose” protégeant ainsi les ovaires de leur vieillissement.
Pour certaines femmes, la pilule peut être critique pour le maintien de la fertilité, car elle conserve l’endométriose et les fibromes utérins sous contrôle. Dès que la pilule contraceptive cesse d’être prise, le cycle reprend à son état précédent dans environ un mois.

Etat de santé de l’homme

Des facteurs similaires à ceux qui nuisent la fécondité des femmes peuvent également affecter la santé du système de reproduction de l’homme.
Le tabac, l’alcool et une mauvaise alimentation sont autant de facteurs qui peuvent réduire la production de sperme ou la motilité des spermatozoïdes.
Des études ont également révélé des dégâts chromosomiques dans le sperme liés au tabagisme et à l’alcool.
La consommation quotidienne de substances antioxydantes, tels que les vitamines E et C, du sélénium, de la carnitine, etc., aident à la production de sperme sain. Par conséquent, l’apport quotidien d’une multivitamine est une bonne première étape.
La production de spermatozoïdes prend environ trois mois, d’où que des mesures doivent être prises pour améliorer la santé de la reproduction de l’époux au moins 3 à 6 mois avant d’essayer d’obtenir une grossesse.

fbpx
EmbryoClinic | FERTILITY
At EMBRYOCLINIC we join forces to provide quality of care and fertility services customized to our patients. We are committed to effectiveness, safety and excellence. EmbryoClinic’s Medical Team was established in 1999 and its extensive experience is a guarantee for success in an ethical and safe environment. Cutting edge medical technology is used and current medical protocols applied in accordance to the latest international guidelines.
fertility, infertility, female fertility, male fertility, female infertility, male infertility, boost your fertility, Endometriosis, Pelvic infection, ovarian surgery, Irregular menstrual cycle, amenorrhoea, Chronic testicular pain, hormonal evaluation, semen analysis, Intrauterine insemination, IUI, IVF, in vitro fertilisation, Assisted Reproduction, Ovulation induction, STAGES OF IVF, Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection, ICSI, Assisted Hatching, AH, Percutaneous Epidydimal Sperm Aspiration, PESA, Testicular Sperm Extraction, TESE, Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis, PGD, Donor Eggs, ecoIVF, mini IVF, Natural cycle IVF, mild stimulation IVF, Egg Sharing, Fertility preservation, SPERM DONATION, EGG DONATION, HOLISTIC APPROACH, fertility massage, fertility nutrition, fertility acupuncture
22081
page-template-default,page,page-id-22081,page-child,parent-pageid-21704,cookies-not-set,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-4.4.1533193858,select-theme-ver-4.4,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive

Female fertility

The first menstrual period (menarche) occurs around the age of 12 – 13 and ceases with menopause, around the age of 50.

Although women can conceive on any day of their menstrual cycle, fertility is at its peak two days before and two days after ovulation. This “fertility window” varies among women, and from cycle to cycle in the same woman.

An egg may be fertilized up to 2 days after ovulation. Spermatozoa survive for 2 – 3 days in the women’s reproductive system, with a maximum of 5 days.

These parameters are important and should be taken into account by couples whose means of contraception is based on the calendar method.

A woman’s likelihood of conceiving is based primarily on age and is as follows:

  • 30 years old

    • 75% of conception within 1 year
    • 91% of conception within 4 year

  • 35 years old

    • 66% of conception within 1 year
    • 84% of conception within 4 year

  • 40 years old

    • 44% of conception within 1 year
    • 64% of conception within 4 year

As a general rule, it is recommended that a couple consult a Fertility Specialist if they have been trying to conceive for a year with no success. They should seek medical advice earlier if there is a history of miscarriages, gynecological surgery or woman’s age over 35 years.

 

Male fertility

The advanced age in men is associated with decreased semen volume, lower sperm density (oligospermia), reduced motility (asthenospermia) and abnormal morphology (teratozoospermia).

• In males 20 – 39 years old, 90 % of the seminiferous tubules contain mature sperm
• In males 40 – 69 years old, 50 % of the seminiferous tubules contain mature sperm
• In males ≥ 80, 10 % of the seminiferous tubules contain mature sperm

10 ways to boost your fertility

Watch your weight

Excess body fat, in addition to other harmful effects, can lead to the overproduction of certain hormones that disrupt ovulation. Obesity may cause the cycle to be irregular and to not ovulate as often, reducing the chances of pregnancy.
Similarly, extremely low weight (body mass index BMI < 17) often means that the body cannot produce enough hormones to produce oocytes or maintain a pregnancy. Exercise, without extremes, can help maintain a healthy weight. Women who exercise intensely (eg long distance runners) may stop producing oocytes or ovulate less often.
Excessive exercise also increases the risk of miscarriage. Discuss your exercise regime with your gynaecologist or midwife when trying to get pregnant.

Eat a balanced diet

A balanced and complete diet increases the chances of pregnancy. Be sure to include protein, iron, zinc and vitamin C, because deficiency in these nutrients has been associated with prolonged cycles (and therefore less frequent ovulation) and a higher risk of miscarriage.

A balanced diet includes foods rich in protein such as meat, fish, low fat dairy products, eggs and beans. Vegetarians can get essential amino acids by including a variety of delicious protein foods in their diet such as rice, beans and tofu.

Quit smoking

The toxins in cigarette smoke are not only harmful to the oocytes, interfering with the process of fertilization and implantation, but also cause ovarian aging. In other words, the ovaries of a 35-year-old smoker may function as if they belong to a 40-year-old woman and are therefore less fertile. Smoking causes permanent damage to fertility but, after smoking cessation, normal ovarian function may be partially restored.

Be familiar with your cycle

A normal menstrual cycle lasts about 25 to 35 days (counting from the first day of the period).
If the duration is much longer, eg 42 days, ovulation becomes less frequent or does not occur at all, and a visit to the Gynecologist is recommended.
When a woman wishes to conceive, the “fertile window” should be determined during which regular sexual intercourse is recommended.
A woman’s fertile days are usually the day of ovulation and 3-4 days earlier, not later.
The theory, however, that ovulation occurs by default on the 14th day of the cycle is not accurate. Ovulation varies dramatically from woman to woman and may occur as early as Day 6 or as late as Day 21 of the cycle.
How can a woman determine when she will ovulate? She may try using an ovulation kit, which measures certain hormones in the urine, or monitor the daily changes in her body temperature and cervical mucus. Nevertheless, the reliability of these methods is limited, and individualized guidance from a Gynaecologist is recommended.

Keep calm

Anxiety and depression can interfere with fertility. Scientific studies report that women are less likely to conceive when they are psychologically stressed. Stress, like intense exercise, may disrupt hormone production, making the menstrual cycle less predictable.
Proper management of stress through relaxation techniques (such as meditation or yoga) or support from a counselor or a group, can regulate the hormones levels.

Reduce alcohol consumption

Recent studies link alcohol consumption with reduced ability to conceive (in addition to the damage it can cause the embryo and other organs).
Alcohol alters the estrogen levels, which may affect implantation, although an occasional glass of wine with dinner is unlikely to harm fertility.
The consumption of caffeine should also be reduced, while attempting to conceive as well as during pregnancy.

Frequent sexual intercourse

The demands of everyday life can negatively affect a couple’s sexual appetite. Scientific research shows that women who have intercourse at least once a week are more likely to have a predictable cycle and normal ovulation than those who have sporadic sex.
Sex every 36 to 48 hours, a few days before ovulation will increase the chances of getting pregnant.

Do not douche

A douche can destroy the normal protective flora of the vagina, increasing the risk of bacterial vaginosis.

An unpleasant odor and vaginal secretions are often the only indications of infection.
Such infections have been linked to premature birth and may be associated with an increased risk of miscarriage and infertility.
A visit to the doctor is necessary if any symptoms of vaginitis are observed (eg itching, burning sensation, abnormal mucus, ulcers, etc.).

The pill

The contraceptive pill can actually enhance fertility. There are indications that temporarily stopping ovulation “rests” the reproductive system and protects the ovaries from aging.
For some women, the pill may be critical for the maintenance of fertility because it keeps endometriosis and uterine fibroids under control. Once birth control pills are stopped, the cycle returns to its previous state in about a month.

His health

Similar factors that affect the fertility of women may affect the reproductive health of men.
Cigarettes, alcohol and a poor diet are all factors that may reduce sperm production or sperm motility.
Studies have also reported chromosomal damage in spermatozoa due to smoking and alcohol.
Anti-oxidants, such as Vitamins E and C, selenium, carnitine, etc., assist in producing healthy sperm. Therefore, the daily intake of a multivitamin is a good first step.
Sperm production takes approximately three months, hence steps should be taken to improve the husband’s reproductive health at least 3 to 6 months prior to attempting to get pregnant.